Chicken and Spinach Madras

One of the things that I’ve never managed to get right is a really good curry sauce. So, I have to admit I resort to a quality ready made sauce. The one in this recipe is from Aldi, but any that you like would work. Of course if you can make your own Madras sauce, I’d love you to share your recipe! One word of caution is to check the amount of carbs, I’m not the best carb counter so I just pick the sauce with the lowest carbs per 100g.

1 jar of Madras Curry Sauce (Aldi)

2-3 chicken breasts cut into bite-size pieces

Spinach (I use frozen spinach from Sainsbury’s, which comes in little portions and I use about 6)

coconut oil for frying

Serves 3-4 people

  • Fry the chicken and the spices (they come separate from the sauce if you are not familiar with the brand) you don’t need to worry about browning the chicken as the spices and flavours are absorbed better if the meat is still a bit raw.
  • Pour over the sauce (I always fill the empty jar with a little water and give it a good shake to get all the sauce out)
  • Add the spinach and simmer for 15-20 minutes.
  • If the sauce isn’t thick enough sprinkle over some coconut flour, but add it slowly a tsp at a time and avoid using too much. If you need to try reducing it by turning up the heat and giving it a short rapid boil (it doesn’t affect the taste in my experience).

Serve with Spicy Cauliflower Medley or So Simple Greens.

Leave a Reply

